8 out of 10 New Brunswick ridings will have the same MP as last time

The 2021 federal election saw candidates re-elected in eight New Brunswick ridings, along with a victorious newcomer and a winner yet to be declared.

The winners are:

  • Beauséjour: Dominic LeBlanc, Liberal
  • Acadie-Bathurst: Serge Cormier, Liberal
  • Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe: Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Liberal
  • Madawaska-Restigouche: René Arseneault, Liberal
  • Saint John-Rothesay: Wayne Long, Liberal
  • Tobique-Mactaquac: Richard Bragdon, curator
  • New Brunswick Southwest: John Williamson, Conservative
  • Fundy Royal: Rob Moore, Curator
  • Miramichi-Grand Lake: Jake Stewart, Conservative
New Brunswick saw five Liberals declared the winners on Monday night, including, from left to right, Dominic LeBlanc in Beauséjour, Serge Cormier in Acadie-Bathurst, Ginette Petitpas Taylor in Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe, René Arseneault in Madawaska-Restigouche and Wayne Long in Saint John-Rothesay. (SRC)

Among the winners declared Monday night, Tory Jake Stewart was the only federal rookie. The former cabinet minister entered federal politics after resigning as an MP.

The only riding where there was no clear winner on Monday night was Fredericton, where Liberal Jenica Atwin and Tory Andrea Johnson scrambled, separated much of the evening by a mere percentage point in vote share .

More than 2,000 local ballots won’t even be counted until Tuesday, so a result may not be clear when people wake up Tuesday morning.

Atwin says decision to change parties was “the best choice for Fredericton”

Liberal MP Jenica Atwin spoke at her campaign headquarters in Fredericton on election night. 1:58

Beauséjour was the first riding to be called by the CBC federal election results tracker, LeBlanc being named the winner shortly after the polls closed at 8:30 p.m. First elected in 2000, Cabinet Minister and longtime friend of Justin Trudeau will be MP for Justin Trudeau. an eighth consecutive term.

The other four Liberal MPs were first elected as part of the party’s sweep in New Brunswick in 2015, and all were re-elected in 2019.

For the Tories, Moore was first elected MP for Fundy Royal in 2004 and has been re-elected three times. He was beaten in 2015 before returning to win the seat in 2019.

Williamson was first elected MP in 2011, but suffered a loss as part of the Liberal sweep in the province in 2015 before regaining the seat in 2019.

Bragdon was first elected in 2019, taking the seat from the Liberals.

Three Conservatives were winners: Richard Bragdon, left, in Tobique-Mactaquac, John Williamson in New Brunswick Southwest and Rob Moore in Fundy Royal. (SRC)

Policy elements to watch

Access to abortion has been one of the issues in New Brunswick, both in this election and the last in 2019.

And with the Liberals forming a minority government, it could come back in the near future if the party keeps its campaign promise to introduce regulations under the Canada Health Act that would strengthen access to publicly funded abortions.

For provinces that do not comply, the Liberal Party has said it will punish them with an “automatic penalty applied to federal health transfers.”

The promise seemed to be aimed squarely at New Brunswick, where Premier Blaine Higgs and his predecessors refused Medicare funding to cover abortions at the 554 clinic in Fredericton.

Conservative leader Erin O’Toole said during the campaign that he supports access to abortion, but will let the provincial government decide what it wants to do about the issue.

A Liberal government could also see both levels of government forced to discuss the Liberals’ plan to deliver the promised child care plan.

The Liberals say the plan would see Ottawa partner with the provinces to provide child care services for $ 10 a day.

When the election was called, New Brunswick was one of only three provinces not to have signed child care agreements with the Trudeau government to fund new spaces.

Comments are closed.