ASPA Buffalo Niagara Chapter Honors Local Professionals and Announces 2022-23 Board of Directors

Pictured, left to right: Chris Marcello, MPA; Kara Kane, MA; Atta A. Ceesay, Ph.D.; and Makenzie Doctor, MPA. (Pictures sent)

Wed Sep 21, 2022 7:00 AM

Special donation made to the WNY Resource Council

ASPA Buffalo Niagara Chapter – the local chapter of the American Society for Public Administration – announced the recipients of its third annual awards program, along with the 2022-23 officers and board members, at its recent annual meeting. 2022.

The ASPA Buffalo Niagara Chapter has recognized the following individuals for their “outstanding contributions in the field of public administration”:

√ Excellence in Government Administration: Kara Kane, MA, Public Information Officer, Erie County Health Department

√ Excellence in Teaching Public Administration: Atta A. Ceesay, Ph.D., President and Associate Professor of Political Science and Public Administration, SUNY Buffalo State

In lieu of a 2022 award for excellence in nonprofit administration, the ASPA Buffalo Niagara Chapter raised $200 in donations for the WNY Resource Council, a forward-thinking social service organization of the response to the May tragedy on Jefferson Avenue.

Following the presentation of the awards, the ASPA Buffalo Niagara Chapter held elections for a slate of officers and board members for the year 2022-23. The new Chapter Chair is Chris Marcello, MPA, Director of the Western Field Office of the New York State Office of Mental Health. He lives in North Buffalo with his wife and two sons.

In addition to Marcello, the officers are:

√ President Elect: Ryan Gadzo, MPA, Erie County Senior Services

√ Past President: Makenzie Doctor, MPA, SUNY Buffalo State

√ Secretary: Marisa Maloni, MPA, New York State Unified Court System

√ Treasurer: Kenneth Stone, MPA, Buffalo & Erie County Public Library

√ Communications Manager: Tony Astran, MPA, APR, Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center / New York State Smokers’ Quitline

√ Membership Officer: Brian Poliner, MPA, Ph.D., New York State Assembly

The members of the council are:

√ Brian Bray, MPA, Erie County Personnel Department

√ Maria Garozzo-Payne, MPA, City of Buffalo Department of Assessment & Taxation (retired)

√ Michael Hughes, MPA, US Citizenship and Immigration Service

√ Kara Kane, MA, Erie County Health Department

√ Rosaleen Nogle, MPA, PE, BCEE, PMP, Buffalo Sewer Authority

√ Lisa Parshall, Ph.D., Daemen University

√ Gordon Stewart III, MPA, Niagara Falls Fire Department

Nationally, the American Society for Public Administration has 61 local chapters and nearly 10,000 members. The organization strives to advance the art, science, teaching, and practice of public and nonprofit administration. Locally, the ASPA Buffalo Niagara Chapter was relaunched in 2018 and now has 30 members and continues to grow. The organization regularly co-sponsors the annual Public Service Appreciation Week conference in April at SUNY Buffalo State. More information is available at and on the chapter’s social media sites on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Comments are closed.