Two Park Rapids FFA Members Advance to State Finals – Park Rapids Enterprise

Two Park Rapids students are among 121 finalists in various areas of supervised agricultural experiences (SAEs) that will be recognized at the Minnesota FFA Association state convention.

The FFA, formerly known as Future Farmers of America, is a youth leadership organization focused on agricultural education with more than 200 high school chapters in Minnesota, including Park Rapids and Nevis.

Hailey Kimball

Contributed / Stephen Funk

Park Rapids student Hailey Kimball was one of two proficiency award finalists in the SAE forest management and products category, and Autumn Kietzman was one of three finalists in the outdoor recreation category. air.

The best student in each category will be named during the general sessions of the event, with more than 4,000 students as well as teachers, supporters and guests expected.

In total, the Park Rapids Chapter is sending 43 students to attend the state’s FFA convention April 24-26 at the state fairgrounds, University of Minnesota St. Paul campus, and 3M Arena in Mariucci.

Park Rapids students will participate in 12 career and leadership development events at the state convention, and the chapter will be recognized for its overhaul since the last time an in-person convention was held.

Members of Park Rapids FFA were recognized at a cheering festival on April 7, 2022 for their involvement in regional competitions this year, with 43 students advancing to compete at state on April 24-25.

Contributed / Stephen Funk

Will also compete in the individual and team categories:

  • Kietzman in Vocational Skills;
  • Anna Eckman, Eli Burton, Madysen Maninga, Noah Huot and Quinn Hoscheid in cultures;
  • Kimball, Kelsey Berghuis, Allison Offerdahl and Sean Ward in forestry;
  • Emma Berghuis, Natalie Berghuis, Rachel Ulvin and Isabel Nevala in small animal veterinary science;
  • The regional champion team made up of Isaac Knapp, Mackenzie Laferrière, Sophie Guida and Levi Trygstad in meats;
  • Aracely Gutierrez, Lydia Leacox and Brooke Kritzeck in The Most Informed Green Hand;
  • Maria Wagner, Jillian Neubauer, Keely Peterson and Hailee Heltemes in floriculture;
  • Emma Vrieze, Holly Johnson, Alexis Usher and Jaime Brann in Farm Sales;
  • Coley Girtz, Ashley Stopka, Sarah Kurth, Dawn Sharp and Aaliyah Preston in Judging Horses;
  • Eli DeVore, Tyler Hillukka, Naomi Knaack, and Bianca DeRosa in Fish and Wildlife; and
  • Allie Rowland, Lizzie Seifert, Kilea Persons and Amelia Bagstad in a nursery landscape.

Additionally, Allison Offerdahl took first place in the regional competition and will represent Park Rapids at the Farm Bureau town hall meeting in the state.
“Overall, we are extremely proud of the hard work our students put into their events and are thrilled to have them experiencing their first state FFA convention,” said Chapter co-counsellor Stephen Funk.

Comments are closed.